NaPoWriMo #8

by Alisa Muniz all rights reserved 2016

First I was hard and buried, no wait
before that I was part of my mother
then I became a piece that broke away
and fell to the ground

On the ground I hardened, feeling un-held,
exposed to the elements,
I learned to love the sun, moon and rain
amidst the lonely days

Over time, I began to change in ways I couldn’t see
sinking into my own rotting world
letting it cover me in mossy earthen dampness
somehow I stopped liking the sun on my face

Life in darkness became my home
safe in the crumbling folds of rotting bone
ancient tears and dried up ocean
but all I saw was the vacuity of the moment

Coarse deprecating eternities pushed and pulled
as I sat still in their quaking dissonance
a harmony of emptiness and loss
vibrating and shifting a dying within

Broken and collapsed I welcomed the sweet death
pieces of all I had to be disappeared
leaving me with nothing to contain my smallness
I started to expand

Pushing outward somehow I knew where to go
though I didn’t know where I was going
outside of my smallness it seemed I had purpose
and an inward propelling direction

Suddenly I was no longer dying darkness
or turned soil of the earth
without breath or fire
watered only occasionally

Reaching I discovered I was of the sacred earth, but not only earth
and in a moment became the wind in my budding awakening
fueled by the burning sun which called me to dance at the fireside
as rain sang songs in my turning opening spirit.

Leave a Reply

