Bridge Child:

Alisa Muniz Blanchard copyright 2014

I was born into the arms of my grandmothers
at the bridge,
where darkness touches light
and the colors meet
beginning to mix together
in the great melting pot

Thick like the blood of my ancestors
my grandmothers tears
burned through
silence
oppression
degradation

Arriving sweet and tender
kisses of life
a newborn
like fragile fragments of hope

Reawakening places
believed long dead and passed
through tattered fragments
promises of tomorrow
were celebrated
with reclaimed threads

Her heart
singing me awake
unto the world
an ancient vibrating life force
pushed into my bones
by her breath

A call to remember what
I was, before
I was born
when darkness touched light
and the colors met and mixed
to create this family’s
children of the bridge

Leave a Reply

