I knew it was time

I knew

Photo by Alisa Muniz Blanchard, all rights reserved

Alisa Muniz Blanchard copyright 2014I knew it was time
when the drumming
sounding less like a heartbeat
became bullets to my soul

I knew it was time
when the rhythm of life
stopped pulsating in my feet
and they refused to dance

I knew it was time
when my spirit song
once vibrant and resounding
ceased to exist

I knew it was time
when the eyes of my loved ones
dampened their light
looking into my blackening eyes

I knew it was time
when morning no longer held
mysterious wonder
in the opportunity waiting ahead

I knew it was time
when waking moments
were cold and dark
like an empty cavern

I knew it was time
when I remembered
the dregs of despair
are but passing shadows

I knew it was time
calling myself back
a summoning of love
to know again:

the beat of a drum,
the rapture of dance,
the cadence of my song,
the spark of light,
the purpose of my life.

Leave a Reply

